Current Affairs

Government Steps To Ensure Health Facilities In Backward Districts

Ministry of Health and Family Welfare

azadi ka amrit mahotsav

Posted On:

01 APR 2022 5:17PM by PIB Delhi

Government of India has identified 112 Aspirational Districts based on their performance in 49 Key Performance Indicators (KPIs) across five themes namely Health and Nutrition, Education, Agriculture and Water Resources, Financial Inclusion and Skill Development and Basic Infrastructure.


“Public Health and Hospital” is a State subject, hence, the primary responsibility of ensuring availability of healthcare facilities lies with the respective State/UT Governments. The Government reviews functionality of the health centers as well as implementation of various health programs in each State including the Aspirational District areas through Central and State level monitoring mechanisms.  From Central level, Ministry of Health and Family Welfare undertakes annual Common Review Mission (CRM) and Integrated Monitoring Visits (IMV) to review the progress of National Health Mission (NHM) implementation. In addition to this Health Management Information System (HMIS) data is updated by States which is available disaggregated up-to-the facility level. Similarly, aspirational district evaluation is also done by NITI Aayog based on the set indicators.


The reports of the CRM and performance evaluation of healthcare facilities, year-wise, from 2007 onwards can be accessed from the link Similarly, Aspirational district annual report can be accessed from the link


The proposals from State /UT Governments are received in the form of Programme Implementation Plans (PIPs) under National Health Mission (NHM) and Government of India provides approval for the proposals in the form of Record of Proceedings (RoP) as per available resources.

Following are the main schemes which focus upon the bridging the gap in providing health services to the public at large:

  • PM Ayushman Bharat Health Infrastructure Mission (PM-ABHIM) with an outlay of Rs. 64,180 Crores aims to fill critical gaps in public health infrastructure. It is a Centrally Sponsored Scheme with some Central Sector components. The Centrally Sponsored Scheme (CSS) Components includes support for infrastructure development for Sub-Health Centres, Urban Health and Wellness Centres, Block Public Health Units, Integrated District Public Health Laboratories and Critical Care Hospital Blocks.


  • Ayushman Bharat-Health & Wellness Centres (AB-HWCs): 1,50,000 Sub- Health Centres (SHCs), Primary Health Centres (PHCs) Rural and Urban are being transformed into Ayushman Bharat- Health and Wellness Centres (AB-HWCs) to deliver twelve packages of Comprehensive Primary Health Care (CPHC) that includes preventive, promotive, curative, palliative and rehabilitative services which are universal. Another essential component of AB-HWCs is the roll out of tele-consultation services through ‘eSanjeevani’.


  • Human Resources: Health care service delivery requires intensive human resource inputs. NHM has attempted to fill the gaps in human resources by providing additional health human resources to the States on contractual basis which includes the following:


      • 14,474 GDMOs,
      • 3,502 Specialists,
      • 74,783 Staff Nurses,
      • 84,313 ANMs,
      • 89,140 CHOs
      • 48,585 Paramedics,
      • 439 Public Health Managers
      • 17,262 Programme Management staffs etc and
      • 10.78 Lakhs ASHAs (10.08 lakhs in Rural + 0.77 lakhs in Urban)


Apart from providing support for health human resource, NHM has also focused on multi skilling of human resources. NHM also focused on multi-skilling of doctors at strategically located facilities identified by the States e.g. MBBS doctors are trained in Emergency Obstetric Care (EmOC), Life Saving Anaesthesia Skills (LSAS) and Laparoscopic Surgery.


The Union Minister of State for Health and Family Welfare, Dr. Bharti Pravin Pawar stated this in a written reply in the Lok Sabha today.




HFW/PQ/ Government Steps To Ensure Health Facilities In Backward Districts/ 01st April 2022/7